members‎ > ‎

Waubonsee Community College

Waubonsee Community College, a two-year public institution of higher learning, came into existence in July 1966 when the electorate of 12 school districts in most of Kane and portions of Kendall, DeKalb, LaSalle and Will counties voted to establish Community College District 516. The area encompasses approximately 600 square miles and has an assessed valuation of more than $5.0 billion. District 516 serves 12 public school districts in Aurora, North Aurora, Batavia, Geneva, Kaneville, Maple Park, Elburn, Hinckley, Big Rock, Plano, Sandwich, Leland, Somonauk, Oswego, Yorkville, Bristol and Sugar Grove.

Waubonsee is a founding member of the Illinois Virtual Campus (IVC) and also provides courses to students statewide through Illinois Community Colleges Online (ILCCO). Waubonsee has the distinction of being an ILCCO grant recipient naming Waubonsee as the host institution and college responsible for the development and operation of the ILCCO Learning Academy. The Learning Academy provides training and support for Illinois community college educators in the development, design and delivery of online courses. Waubonsee offers more than 100 online courses and is one of a handful of higher education institutions in Illinois to offer fully-accredited associate degrees to students in a distance learning format. The college's philosophy is that education is the cornerstone of a literate, democratic society; learning is a lifelong process; and the pursuit of knowledge must be supported by institutional policies demonstrating accessibility, service, quality, innovation and value.


Guy Starner
phone: 630.466.2936

Susan Harmon
phone:  630-466-5758


Institution Categrory: Community College
Production LMS: Blackboard Learning System Enterprise License
Current Version: 9.1
Additional LMS Products: None
Other LMS's Deployed: None
ASP Hosted: Yes