members‎ > ‎

Lewis University

Located 30 minutes southwest of Chicago, Lewis University is a comprehensive, Catholic university where the traditions of liberal learning and preparation for professional life give the university its educational identity and mission focus. Lewis provides 70 undergraduate majors and programs of study, 20 graduate programs, and accelerated programs for working adults through the Colleges of Arts and Sciences, Business, Education and Nursing and Health Professions. Premier programs include aviation, criminal/social justice, education, nursing, and business. 

Founded in 1932 under the direction of the Chicago Archdiocese and Bishop Bernard J. Sheil, Lewis began as the Holy Name Technical School for boys.  Lewis is one of approximately 100 universities worldwide schools sponsored by the De La Salle Christian Brothers with over 325 years of teaching experience in the Lasallian tradition. Aviation technology was the special emphasis of instruction and the origin of today's highly regarded Department of Aviation. In 1952 the school was renamed the Lewis College of Science and Technology. In 1960, the De La Salle Christian Brothers - members of a 326-year-old religious order devoted exclusively to teaching and named after Saint John Baptist de La Salle, their founder and Patron Saint of Educators' assumed direction of the institution. Today, with growing enrollment, outstanding programs, experienced faculty and motivated students, Lewis University is recognized as one of the finest, mid-sized, comprehensive Catholic universities in the country. Affiliation Catholic and Lasallian. 

The main campus is situated on 376 beautiful acres in Romeoville, Illinois just 30 minutes southwest of Chicago. Other campus sites include; Romeoville, Hickory Hills, Oak Brook, Shorewood, Tinley Park, and Chicago. Total enrollment is 5,300; 3,900 undergraduate and 1,400 graduate students, the 12th largest private institution in Illinois. Student/faculty ratio is 12:1. 

Colleges and Schools: College of Arts and Sciences College of Business College of Education College of Nursing and Health Professions School for Professional and Continuing Education Degrees Associate of Science (A.S.) Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) Bachelor of Elected Studies (B.E.S.) Bachelor of Science (B.S.) Bachelor of Science in Nursing (B.S.N.) Master of Arts (M.A.) Master of Business Administration (M.B.A.) Master of Education (M.Ed.) Master of Science (M.S.) Master of Science in Nursing (M.S.N.) Certificate of Advanced Study (C.A.S.) Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) Programs More than 70 undergraduate majors and areas of study and 20 graduate programs.


Suzan Sollie
Senior Academic Technologist
phone: 815.836.5518

Joe Jirka
Learning Management System Administrator
Center for Advanced Technology Solutions
(815) 836-5668



Institution Category: 4-year institution
Production LMS: Blackboard 
Current Version: 9.1
Additional LMS Products: None
Other LMS's Deployed: None
ASP Hosted: Yes